John B McGrath

Director, ITV plc 2003-2008. Chairman of The Boots Company 2000-03. He was Group Chief Executive of Diageo plc until his retirement in December 2000.

I met Cicely in 2000, and after just an hour chatting with her, I committed to help carry on her amazing work into the future.

Sir Cyril Chantler GBE

Sir Cyril is a British medical doctor who was Consultant Paediatrician at Guy’s Hospital from 1971 to 2000, and Fund Professor of Paediatric Nephrology at London University, 1990–2000, and emeritus since 2001. He was knighted in 1996 and was appointed Knight Grand Cross of the Order of the British Empire (GBE) in the 2017 New Year Honours for services to leadership in healthcare. He is an adviser to the All Party Parliamentary Health Group of the UK Parliament.

Dr Kathleen Foley

Dr Foley is Attending Neurologist in the Pain and Palliative Care Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Centre (MSKCC) in New York City and Professor of Neurology, Neuroscience and Clinical Pharmacology at Weill Medical College of Cornell University.

Mrs Kate Kirk

Kate Kirk is a writer and communications consultant whose client list includes the Asian Development Bank, business school INSEAD, think tank RAND Europe, the World Bank, and WHO. She currently focuses on management and entrepreneurship, and is co-author of The Cambridge Phenomenon: 50 Years of Innovation and Enterprise. A niece of Dame Cicely, Kate volunteered at St Christopher’s Hospice in her youth. She is also a trustee of the Arthur Rank Hospice Charity in Cambridge and volunteers for the hospice in a variety of roles.

Howell James CBE

Howell James is a communications adviser and former Vice-Chairman of Corporate Affairs at Barclays. He has had a long career as a communications adviser in government, broadcasting, and multi-national business.

Sir Hugh Taylor KCB

Sir Hugh was appointed as Chairman of Guy’s and St Thomas’ in February 2011.  His most recent appointment before joining the Trust was as Permanent Secretary at the Department of Health, from which he retired in July 2010.  He is also on the Board of Macmillan Cancer Support, the Nuffield Trust and the Royal College of Physicians.

Pam Garside

Pam Garside is a management consultant working in health care systems and digital health in the UK and USA ,and an angel investor. She is a Fellow of the Judge Business School of the University of Cambridge and a member of the Investment Committee of Cambridge Enterprise, the technology transfer company of the University. Pam founded and co-chairs The Cambridge Health Network, is a board member of Cambridge Angels, ZPB Ltd and Whizz-Kidz and Punchdrunk charities. She holds a BSc from the University of Durham and a Masters Degree in Hospital and Health Care Administration from the University of Minnesota.


Gareth Williams

Gareth Williams is a Non Executive Director of SAGA plc and WNS holdings, a US listed company. He also does some consulting on leadership development. His background is primarily in Human Resources. He spent 10 years with Ford Motor Company and 30 years with Grand Met and Diageo. Between 1999 and 2013 he was Global Human Resources Director for Diageo and a member of its Executive Committee.

Sir Richard Giordano

Sir Richard was  non-executive Deputy Chairman of Rio Tinto, chairman of BG Group plc, a non-executive Director of the US based Georgia-Pacific Corporation and is a trustee of Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.

International Scientific Expert Panel

Professor Eduardo Bruera

Professor and FT McGraw Chair in the Treatment of Cancer, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Centre.  Chair, Department of Palliative Care and Rehabilitation Medicine, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Centre, USA. Past President, International Association of Hospice and Palliative Care.

Professor Harvey Chochinov

Professor, Department of Family Medicine, Division of Palliative Care, University of Manitoba. Director, Manitoba Palliative Care Research Unit. Canada Research Chair in Palliative Care

Professor Ilora Finlay, Baroness Finlay of Llandaff

Professor of Palliative Medicine, University of Wales College of Medicine. Consultant in Palliative Medicine, Holme Tower, Marie Curie Centre, Penarth. Honorary Professorial Associate, University of Melbourne. Honorary International Adviser to Hong Kong Association for Palliative Medicine. Honorary Professor, University of Ulyanovsk. Johanna Bijtel Visiting Professorship, University of Groningen. Member of the UK’s House of Lords.

Professor Joan Teno

Professor of Medicine at the University of Washington Division of Gerontology and Geriatrics and Cambia Palliative Care Center for Excellence

Professor Per Sjogren

Adjunct Professor in Pharmacology and Pharmacotherapy at the Pharmaceutical Faculty of University of Copenhagen.  Consultant at Section of Acute Pain Management and Palliative Medicine.  Professor in palliative medicine, Department of Oncology, Rigshospitalet, University of Copenhagen.

Scientific Director

Professor Irene Higginson

Professor of Palliative Care and Policy, King’s College London.  NIHR Senior Investigator.  Director of Research & Innovation, and Assistant Medical Director, King’s College Hospital.

Life President

Christopher Saunders

Christopher Saunders is an investor in and adviser to early stage, knowledge-based companies. His business career included 5 years with McKinsey, and chairing engineering companies. Brother of the late Dame Cicely Saunders, he formerly sat on the Council of St Christopher’s Hospice.


Sir David Walker

Sir David Walker is a former trustee of Cicely Saunders International.  He became Patron in 2015.



Sian Best